My first order from and review of Dark Heart Designs

First off, I’d like to mention that Dark Heart Designs are the 3rd indie company I have purchased makeup from, but so far are my favorite (the other brands I will review soon). Having received them just yesterday, I had the opportunity to take pictures of them before I messed everything up. You can see by just the package how much work is put into this product. It was stamped in ink on the package and then the closure was waxed and stamped with a heart. It was quite lovely. What was inside was very nice as well. I had ordered the full size Good Witch/Bad Witch Collection and The Sample Set of their entire eye shadow collection. All the samples were in hand-stamped little baggies. A few of the full eye shadows were in the cute little bag with their logo ironed on. They also included 2 samples of their Lip Slicks and a full size Liquid Shine (I will explain what those are in the next post).

Image

This is what the package looked like.

Image

Look at that detail! Wax stamped closure!

Image

What was attached to the jars themselves

Good Witch/Bad Witch Collection

There was also a stamped and handwritten little note that stated, “Thanks so much for the order. It means a lot to me and I hope you like everything. Let me know if you have any feedback or suggestions. Thanks again, Tina.” How sweet!

The cute little jars for the full size are so different, but they do have a sifter on top and hold 1.5 grams like the normal shaped jars do. They only problem I could foresee with the jars being different shaped is storage. It’s not a problem for me, but it might be if I get more from this company and have to move them. It’s something to consider. The shades I have swatched (look for them in the next posts!) so far are beautiful and smooth. I like them a lot. Also, on the website for the Sample Set is states there are 52 shades included. There are in fact 69 shades (they probably haven’t updates since their new collection came out). There is about .2 grams in every sample in the sample set (I believe the $.99 individual samples include more).

The normal prices for what I ordered:

Good Witch/Bad Witch Collection $25.99 (full size individual eyeshadows are $5.99 for 1.5 grams)

The Sample Set $17.99 (for 69 baggies of .2 grams)

Liquid Shine $4.99 (per 4 ml)

See? Pretty decently priced, right? I did have a 20% discount code I got from MakeupBee’s Facebook page (Dark Heart Designs are sponsoring a competition with them right now). The Liquid Shine was free due to a special they’re running for the month of September.  Shipping & handling was also only $1.99 (I think that’s all the time, too). Awesome, right? Most indie companies charge about $6-7 for s&h.

Between the obvious love and care they put in their products and the products themselves, I say they are a freakin’ amazing deal. (considering that if you ordered eye shadow pigment from Make Up For Ever on Sephora.com is $20 for 1.5 grams plus s&h). I will definitely be purchasing more from them as soon as I can.

The next several posts will be swatches of my purchase.

So what did you think of my first post? If there is any suggestions or criticism please comment below. This is my first time doing this and would love to know what you guys think. Honesty is always welcome (Unless you say something about all of my parenthesis. Those comments will be ignored. :D).

Thank you!!

**Disclaimer: All products mentioned here were purchased by me and all opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “My first order from and review of Dark Heart Designs

  1. Pingback: My first order from and review of Dark Heart Designs « Dark Heart Designs Cosmetic Blog

Leave a Reply

